Full Evasion Calc

+ Evasion vs Evasion %

This is a bit of a misnomer. Unlike Guard with its two types separate stats(how often it triggers and how much it reduces), Evasion is only one stat (the trigger).

Evasion is more similar to Crit rate. It caps at 95%. So no, you can’t have ober-evasion totals of 980%. Evasion is a percentage of how often you avoid attacks. “I evade attacks 980 of the time,” makes no sense. But, “I evade attacks 70% of the time,” does.

I hope that gets most of you out of thinking Evasion is a flat stat like Flee. Its not at all.

980 Flee can be beat by a Hit of 981 or more.
Evasion has no counter and thus the idea of 980 in utterly pointless. As it has no in-game mechanic to contend with, Evasion can only be made to have an effect by making it a percentage modifier. Just like Crit Rate, Luck, and Mental.

Make sense? I hope so.

Q: So why are there “+ Evasion” and “Evasion %”? What’s the difference?

A: Good question, thousands of people who play this game.

A base character has 0 Evasion. 0%. Nil. Nada.

Light Armor donned and 10 ranks in Light Armor Mastery gives +10% Evasion to Base Score.

Eva Up (Battle skill) 10 ranks gives +10 Evasion to Base score. Yes, that means at lvl200 you get +50.

Reflex (Dual Wield skill) gives +50% Evasion to Total score.

Q: What’s the difference between the “+” and the “+%” tho? I don’t get it.

For that I need to add equips and xtals. So

I’ll use Mirror Shield (Evasion Rate +10%)
Mole Eyes additional (Evasion Rate +10%)
Magic Crystal Armor (Evasion Rate +5%)
Volcanic Claws (Evasion Rate +2%)
Mage ring (because I love it)
And for giggles, I’ll use four +2 Evasion xtals on these.

I’ll have a lvl 30 character with Eva Up 10 and Light Armor Mastery 10.

Q: Wait how much Evasion does using Light Armor give you to begin with?

A: Light Armor itself gives +10 Evasion.

Q: Okay. So light armor and mastery 10 give you +20? Or 11?

A: No no. I’ll get to that. Gimme a minute.

Your Primary is your highest bonus from a skill or equip or xtal.
I have Eva Up 10. So that is my Primary base.
If I didn’t have Eva Up; the Light Armor’s natural +10 would be the primary.

Moving on. Percentages apply to primary.
Eva Up 10 + 10(light armor) = 20
20+(Mirror Shield (Evasion Rate +10%) + Mole Eyes additional (Evasion Rate +10%) + Magic Crystal Armor (Evasion Rate +5%) + Volcanic Claws (Evasion Rate +2%))….

Lets make this easier to read.
20+(10% + 10% + 5% + 2%)
OR
20x(1+0.1+0.1+0.05+0.02)=25.4% Eva

Q: What about the four +2 Evasion xtals, Light Armor mastery, and Reflex?

A: I’m not done. Now I take
25.4+(4×2: the xtals) = 33.4% Eva

33.4 is my Base.

Now I add light armor mastery
33.4×1.1=36.74

This is my Total Score: 36.74% Evasion.
I will Eva roughly every 3 hits that don’t miss me.

Q: What about Reflex?

A: That applies to Total.
36.74×1.5=55.11
So when I cast Reflex my Evasion becomes 55.11%, meaning a little over half of the attacks that I don’t dodge, Evade.

Q: What about potions?
Butterfly Float(Evasion+5)?
Black Mist Candy(Evar+5%)?
Overheat Potion(Evasion+10)?
How do they work?

A: First off, Butterfly and Overheat don’t stack. While both at active, Overheat just overlaps Butter for +10. Anyways, Potions apply to Base. However, Reflex does not count potions.

33.4 is my Base.

I decide to use an Overheat and a Mist Candy.

The Overheat is added first.
33.4+10=43.4
Then the Mist.
43.4×1.05=45.57.

That’s not bad.

Q: What about Reflex?

A: Ah. 45.57-33.4=12.17
Now are Total with reflex is 55.11.
Adding the 12.17 back in is 67.28

67.28% Eva!

This means 2 out of every 3 hits that you don’t dodge, you’ll evade!

Now all of this is for a character under lvl40. Remember that battle skills increase by character lvl. So those 10 ranks in Eva Up that give +10 Evasion, become +20 after lvl40 and +30 at lvl 80, etc.,!

95% Eva is achievable by the beginning of Endgame. And by lvl200, you really don’t need Reflex. But you’ll definitely need the def and mdef it screws you out of!

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.